Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagreee. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whenever applying for a job, personal information becomes one of the data needs in the resume for the company's use. However, there are some applicants does not think personal data are essential for the employer. There are actually two different opinions regarding the over expose data to employers one hand agree it is useful and the other hand thinks the opposite. It is useful as employers can consider the applicants' situation. At the same time, it can be useless because usually employers just think about company performance rather than their employees' benefits. On the positive side, giving out personal data can be helpful for the employer to consider the applicants' job scope and work schedule. Since married people need to balance work and home responsibilities. For example, an employer of a particular company reconsiders married men or women from working overtime as they also need to focus on their married life and their children. Hence, this would help them from being over-whelmed and save more marriage life. Contrastly, the individual's hobbies, status and interest can be useless as the employer does not really interested in them and just focus on their skills and experiences since those can really help with the company's development. For instance, Petronas, one of the big companies' priorities skilful and experienced which can be a force for the company to improve. Thus, this actually makes only those people with their wanted skills will be employed. To summarise, self-interest and hobbies can be useless or useful depending on how the employer analyses the application. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement since most the company even the influence company more focus on skills rather than our interests. Therefore, the company should emphasise the skills that they want in their employees.