Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the environmental issue is one the major concerns of the public and most people think that both globalisation and the increasing number of international companies bring a negative impact to our planet and I totally agree with their opinions due to several reasons. Among all of the reasons, the first reason popping into my mind is that people travel more and more under globalisation and they produce a large amount of waste while using different transport. For instance, more cheap flights are available in our society and people are able to travel to different places around the world easily at low costs. With the increased number of people who travel by aeroplane, more aircraft are needed and more fossil fuels are burnt. This,in turn, creates more carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in the air. Given that greenhouse gases trap heat in the atmosphere, burning more fossil fuels during transportation may lead to global warming. Another reason is that there is insufficient land to cater for the needs of the increased number of international factories and companies. In order to create more places for the companies to expand, large-scale deforestation and land reclamation are needed over the world and these actions are harmful to our homes. Green plants and trees are able to absorb carbon dioxide when they undergo photosynthesis. As fewer trees are left after deforestation, more carbon dioxide are left in the atmosphere and this leads to serious air pollution problem in the city. Also, during the process of reclamation, different kinds of waste are dumped into the ocean and affecting the water quality of our homeland as well as the home of all ocean features. In conclusion, I totally agree that both globalisation and the growing number of multinational businesses have negative impacts on the environment.