Through various social media like Facebook or Instagram, people contact each other and receive domestic and international news. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Using social media such as Facebook or Instagram for consuming global and regional news is a controversial issues which people like debating about nowadays. I would say that there are more benefits when people read articles through social media. First of all, some people say that it is highly dangerous social media users react to the breaking news right after they released to the public. This is due to the fact that sometimes breaking news is not reliable. If the information turned out it’s from the wrong sources, it is too late to respond to make it right. Because of the characteristics of social media, information spreads out in such a short period of time. This is a way how fake news is generated. Once fake news is created, it is very hard to correct while it spreads globally. Furthermore, tons of fake news lead to do harm to entire journalism system, although journalists and newspapers work hard to correct wrong information. However, I believe that comsuming articles with social media helps enable people share their opinions freely online. It allows people to exchange their opinions with the others from different countries and cultures immediately. For instance, there were a lot of articles about Asian hate crimes in the Covid-19 pandemic. I read the articles on Instagram and shared posts in my account. After that, my Korean friends as well as international friends left comments and we had a debate. We shared our views about the crimes and it was great experience to embrace other point of views from my perspective. In addition, if someone left wrong information, the others corrected it with the right information with clear references. I consider my personal experience can be a positive effect of using social media as obtaining the information all over the world. In conclusion, there are more positive influence when the audiences use social media as a mean of gathering the information about what is happening in the society. Reading articles through different online platforms makes people not only to get the knowledge from it, but also to share personal thoughts with the others from different backgrounds