Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

While numerous people regard cycling as a healthy and beneficial transport, there still be a number of citizens refusing to make it a main type of transport in many countries. I believe this phenomenon can be explained for several reasons and some measures can be done to improve this issue. The first point to consider is the fundamental instructions are not very complete and user-friendly for bicycles to ride on the road. When people ride a bike on a crowded and unplained unexplained road, the probability of traffic accidents will dramatically increase. The other point to be taken into account is that the citizens under the rapid pace of life and great work pressure prefer to take a fast and comfortable transportation to the destination. For example, taking a taxi when they go to visit clients can save a lot of energy and may even allow them a short rest on the journey. Of course, there are several rational measures can be done to encourage people to use bicycles more frequently. Firstly, schools and medias are obliged to educate citizens the necessity and importance of protecting the environment. They should bare in mind that we only have one planet to live on and it's everyone's duty to maintain the sustainability of the earth. Secondly, the government can introduce powerful laws to prohibit the over use of private transportation. For example, when a family let out carbon dioxide out of 10 cubic meter a month, they are charged 100$ as a forfeit. In conclusion, there are many reasons why people in some countries less prefer to use bicycles and a lot of measures can be done to make an improvement.