Should the same laws which prohibit the sale & consumption of heroin be applied to tobacco? Discuss

Heroin consumption has destroyed many lives in recent years which led to its prohibition and ban on its trade. However, some people believe tobacco is also hazardous to people and it also has many fatal impacts on human beings. I believe there should be laws which at the very least restrict trade and consumption among youngsters and adolescents. I will explain my reasoning in this essay. First of all, tobacco has serious health implications for two major organs of the body, one of them being the lungs. It destroys cells in the lung and affects your respiratory system, slowly damaging it until even taking a breath becomes a struggle. For instance, the leading cause of lung cancer is cigarettes which are the most accessible source of tobacco. What's worse is that even minors have access to it, especially in countries like Pakistan. Most people here get addicted to cigarettes from the age of ten and once your body acclimatizes to this new substance, there is a compulsion to get more which is not easy to get rid of. Secondly, even heart disease is often linked to cigarette and tobacco intake. It is now a well-researched scientific fact that excessive intake of tobacco significantly increases the chances of a heart attack. For example, my father used to be addicted to cigarettes. He would finish off an entire pack in a day. Other than this one negative habit, he was a healthy person. He would exercise regularly and take care of his diet. Yet, he got a heart attack and since that day he hasn't even glanced towards a cigarette and his health has improved substantially. In conclusion, I think the government should at least impose laws which inhibit tobacco intake among children and teenagers. Shopkeepers that sell these substances to kids should also be held responsible.