The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

As more developed countries progress, there seems to follow a disturbing trend of health-related issues. Obesity is a prominent example, especially affecting children. The effects of obesity amongst children have detrimental results, and the causes are often linked to inadequate lifestyles. This essay will be reviewing the causes and effects of this problem. One of the causes of an increase in weight-related issues in children is a result of the implementation of technology. While technology can be useful, often simplifying certain tasks and providing adolescents with entertainment, it also limits physical activity. As a result of this, there is a lack of engagement in sports and an overall decline in participation in physical ways of play. Another cause corresponds with an inappropriate diet. This is due to the replacement of traditional cuisine with fast food paired with the increasingly busy schedule of parents. This results in children consuming fast food, which is fattening and lacks proper nutrition. Thus, this leads to numerous health concerns, such as being overweight and deficiencies. The effects of being overweight are severely problematic for both children and general society. Not only do simple daily tasks become unnecessarily difficult obstacles, but several hazardous health risks also occur. For example, the University of Harvard conducted research in 2011, which suggested that being overweight in the most critical stage of development (averaged age 6-18) subsequently increases the chances of diabetes by more than 50% and high cholesterol by 33%. Additionally, unhealthy individuals are often unable to care for themselves without assistance, as well as work properly. In other words, later on, their contribution and functioning in society might be adversely affected. To conclude, the lack of physical activity along with the poor choice in diet are often the main contributors to obesity. Consequently, a plethora of health problems plagues children, affecting their capability to then further function in daily life and later on in society.