Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many feel students should not study arts lectures as required lessons in the high school curricula. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because painting and drawing are essential parts of the development journals of teenagers. The below essay will give explanations for my viewpoint. Firstly, by learning how to paint and draw, students will have a chance to improve the nature of their aesthetic skills which help them to express their thoughts and emotions. In other words, learning those subjects makes students have holistic development, and able to care for their mental health. Furthermore, it helps children relieve stress, improve their self-esteem, and have more confidence in themselves. For instance, a child who knows painting usually can express his ideas more specifically to others, and he can present those ideas in front of many people without any fear. Secondly, unlike science subjects, art lectures enhance a creativity mindset in teenagers at a high level. Therefore, they can approach and solve difficult issues in their life in a unique way. For example, Leonardo da Vinci is a great artist with many famous works, but besides,that he is also an inventor with a mind ahead of his time. That is the reason why schools should treat those lessons with the same status as literacy and numeracy. In conclusion, it would be a big mistake if we underestimate the role of arts in the school curriculum. Learning arts not only helps teenagers to take care of their mental health but also improves their creative thinking.