In recent years, the number of children participating in sports and other physical activities has decreased. Identify some of the resulting problems and state ways to address them.

he progression of time and incorporation of technology in daily life follows a disturbing trend of lowered participation in physical activity in adolescents. Such occurrences raise several health-related concerns, as well as the debate for solutions. This essay will be reviewing the consequent issues and possible answers to these problems. On one hand, the implementation of technology as the main source of entertainment among children, in several aspects, has resulted in less participation in sports and physical play, which is essential to a healthy mind and body. For instance, children are becoming more desk-bound, avoiding necessary amounts of activity outside. This has resulted in several health-related problems, such as obesity and diabetes. For example, a recent study by the University of Harvard has suggested that physical inactivity increases the chances of being overweight by nearly 87%, which directly increases the chance of developing type 2 diabetes by 35% in children aged 7-14. In addition to this, the lack of physical socialization has had a significant impact on both self-esteem and the ability of children to properly communicate with peers. This has resulted in an increase in depression and anxiety among adolescents, with reports made by psychologists in western society suggesting it has more than doubled in the past 30 years. However, it is important for us to implement proper monitoring and regulations as soon as possible. Not only could this be achieved on an individual level, but also on a societal basis. For instance, parents should reinforce stricter rules on the prominence of virtual entertainment within the household. In addition, governments should implement laws restricting access to mobile phones and certain programs for children below the age of 18. Moreover, educational institutions could invest in sports activities and learning programs requiring physical activity. To conclude, technology is certainly beneficial, yet it has adversely impacted the physical and psychological health of children. Although vigorous, measures against overexposure to video games and technological gadgets should be taken both by parents and the government.