Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

It is a popular belief that cycling is a healthy and environmental friendly mode of transport; the practice however, is still unpopular in many countries because of of the different reasons i will explain as i progress The first reason i will like to discuss is the lack of adequate awareness of cycling benefits among citizens. To overcome this, the health sector of the government and non-governmental organizations alike, should take up the launching of several consciousness campaigns as a fundamental project. Knowledge is power and realization campaigns of the health benefits of cycling organized at regular intervals will go a long way in getting the public to embrace cycling as an alternative healthy means of transport. A second reason why cycling is yet to be a very popular habit in many countries is the notion that it is mainly the poor who make use of bicycles; reason being that many communities seem to compare the price of bikes with car prices. An effective way to combat the challenge is also through effective attention creation; whereby the population will be made to understand that the use of bikes does not negate the various social classes they belong to and that its health benefits outweigh the feeling of satisfaction that comes with the social class tags. During the experience, citizens can be guided through making cycling part of their daily routine without necessarily abandoning their cars or having to use bike as their sole means of transportation. In underdeveloped countries too, society consider using bikes as a means of transportation as a tradition that isn't very safe because the roads are constructed without adequate provision for persons who make use of bikes. This makes it a risky process because bicycle users tend to move in the same lane provided for car users thereby making the chances of collisions with oncoming vehicles higher. In conclusion, government, non-governmental organizations and individuals alike have important roles to play by way of sensitization and infrastructural development, towards achieving a high level of acceptance of cycling as a healthy means of transportation.