Some people think young people should be free to choose his or her job, but other people think they should be realistic and think more about their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, an increasing number of occupations is created for society. It is debatable whether current generations are able to freely chase their true calling or should be pragmatic and pay attention to the future. It is clear that the latter viewpoint absolutely overshadows the former because of several reasons which I will explain my preference in the following paragraphs. Perhaps for many, the first opinion is wrong due to several reasons. First, those who devote their lives to pursuing dreams might become job-hoppers. To be specific, realizing one’s passion is an arduous task, and an individual has to experience an ample number of professions to realise their true calling. Consequently, job-seekers who have had insufficient luck to find a suitable job will lack career development and monthly incomes, which would lead to a financially-unstable life when they grow old. Second, there are some vocations where job prospects are extremely limited. Particularly, artistic careers namely actors or actresses have more supply than demand, and this causes the unemployment rate to rise. In fact, many actors and actresses, who lack fame, have to do minimum wage like waiters to stay alive. At the same time, I am also in favour of the second standpoint because of two reasons. First and foremost, a stable vocation will offer a significant number of economic benefits for employees. To elaborate, permanent occupations supply workers with monthly earnings, which would increase as they perform well and climb the career ladder. Better still, an inordinate number of companies provide insurance or travel trips yearly for staff’s loved ones. In addition, employers will decrease recruitment costs if they possess loyal employees. In particular, each business has different operations and codes of conduct, which causes they have to allocate a budget to train fresh staff before they are able to do tasks. As a result, these costs are minimal when they avert worker turnover. In short, current generations should be realistic and stick with a permanent profession instead of freely chasing dreams to avoid becoming job-hoppers and falling into unemployment because of the limited prospects of some jobs. Meanwhile, certain careers should be prioritised thank to economic benefits offered to job-seekers and companies will fall recruitment costs.