Some people believe that companies should be allowed to collect data about customers freely, while others believe this practice should be restricted. Discuss both sides of this issue.

In the present age, whether companies should collect users' data has sparked a lot of debate. Some people assert that there is no harm if companies collect customer data, whereas others believe they must be stopped from doing the same. Personally, I am in favour of the latter view. Nowadays, the internet has become very cheap and almost available to everyone. Firstly, people use smartphones for almost three hours a day and generate a large amount of data. For example, a person who uses Instagram for thirty minutes daily generates almost two GB of data including personal information. Therefore, this information data can be used by an unauthorized person to gain an advantage using personal information generated. Secondly, children are also exposed to the internet in recent days. They use various streaming platforms without any restrictions. Therefore, they can be an easy target for showing a visual advertisement during the streaming of videos. Thirdly, some programs deal with health information. For instance, the app that provides the delivery of medicine has all the data of the person who uses it. Therefore, they can be used for targeted advertisement.