Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that authorities and large companies are principally responsible for solving environmental issues, while each resident cannot do anything. Personally, I completely disagree with this view. There are two primary reasons why I approve of it. The first frequently cited one is that dwellers seemed to be the root of the problem. Apparently, there are billions of people living around the world and they are making great contributions to several issues such as using too many plastic bags, which leads to pollution or climate change resulting from carbon dioxide emissions released from everyday products. As a consequence, several solutions should be adopted by individuals so that they can help prevent other potential threats, whereas,without the cooperation of residents, various measures which are taken by governments or companies may bring about short-term benefits. Secondly, once citizens are aware of the adverse influence of environmental problems on their lives, they will try to tackle these ones by themselves. There are a number of effective devices, which could solve such serious problems, invented by individuals and the role of authorities or companies is somehow supporting them by raising funds or prioritizing financial allocation. For instance, a Vietnamese farmer has created an efficient system of trash disposal which was applied throughout the whole country. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I believe that individuals play a significant role in improving the environment due to two main reasons, which are the root cause and their awareness of these issues.