IN some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

In recent decades, many individuals have been living in rental properties rather than owning a home. This is a rising trend in many countries. And, There are certain advantages and disadvantages of living in rental properties. To commence, there are two main benefits of living on rent. Firstly, it saves families from a huge financial burden as they just have to pay the monthly expense of living in someone's house. Also, this allows people to invest their savings in building a business, which is financially more rewarding. For example, many people purchase apartments to list on Airbnb to earn extra income and still live on rent. Secondly, renting a home is more affordable than purchasing it due to rising inflation in the real estate markets. To illustrate, it takes thirty years for a couple to pay off their mortgage in 2023, while it was just seven years in 1980. Hence, this form of accommodation has many benefits. On the other hand, there are two main drawbacks to using this mode. Firstly, it lowers the level of freedom which a family may enjoy in their own home. This can be because of following landlords' directions to maintain the property. Also, a person can never make any major architectural changes in these outlets. Secondly, one can never feel the sense of ownership here. This psychological effect helps an individual to become more satisfied and stable. Hence, renting a house certainly has some drawbacks. To conclude, financial freedom and affordability are the main benefits of living in rental accommodations. However, one enjoys lower personal freedom and a sense of ownership in these forms of housing. Overall, it all depends upon individual personal choices and requirements.