Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Some people often argue whether there must be fixed punishments for any crime or the circumstances and reasons of committing a crime should be consider before inflicting punishment. Here, I will discuss both views since fixed punishment would consume a short time judgement while sufficient punishment will be given to criminals after knowing their motives for the crime. Giving a fixed punishment would make a court procedure a lot quicker. This is because judges would not need to investigate the crime as the punishment has been already decided for criminals. I think this action are not fair because there are some criminals does not deserve the punishments given to them. For example, a person robbing a bank will not having an equal punishment with a person robbing a convenient store. Hence, I believe although fixed punishment helps the court’s decision easier, it is an unfair practice to set same punishment for each crime. Before deciding a punishment, the situation or motivation that led to commit crime should be consider because to ensure a right punishment is handed down to criminal. The reason is some crimes are done in a desperate condition. For instance, a person killed someone as a self-defense, or a robbery happen to feed a family. Then, these crimes should be given a necessary punishment for them just to reflect themselves on what they did is wrong. Thus, I believe considering the circumstances of crimes will give a right justice for criminals. To conclude, I aware fixed punishment aid the process of sentencing criminals but checking the motive of the crime should take into account first to prove their fault