Some people believe that schools are no longer necessary because students can study well at home through the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never have the topics concerning the education of children failed to attract the public’s attention. As pupils can have access to abundant online resources at home easily, here comes an argument about whether being educated at school is not essential anymore. I tend to disagree with this opinion because traditional education still plays a significant role in students’ development. It is undeniable that youngsters can access various information through the Internet, thereby acquiring different kinds of knowledge. To begin with, it is convenient for those students to attend online courses, for the reason that they will not waste much time on the way to school or back home. More time will be saved and can be allocated to their academic learning, such as having more time available to complete their homework. Apart from that, when studying online, chances are that it can improve learning efficiency, since teaching staff can use some online materials to explain some complex information. Those resources, like videos about chemical experiments, are more vivid and clear than the tedious information in textbooks. Therefore, students are more inclined to fully understand the content of lessons. However, online studying will never overtake the place of traditional education, as the learning environment and atmosphere at school cannot be created at home. Only when pupils are engaged in school activities, such as studying with their peers, can they learn how to compete, collaborate and compromise with each other. This is undoubtedly crucial to their future development. Additionally, when attending classes at school, children are more likely to foster a sense of competition. It is in the classroom where they can feel peer pressure directly. In that case, they might be motivated by others’ performances, and then strive harder for their own bright future. In conclusion, even though receiving online education at home can bring some benefits to students, I still believe that schools are ideal places for them to study and can never be replaced.