Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern era, the persuasive influence of international media has deeply impacted the social structure. The consequences of this exposure are profound but, in my opinion, the advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages. International media has been instrumental in unifying the world, reducing prejudices and transforming lifestyles by making people more cognizant of their role as global citizens. It is often argued that uninterrupted access to western movies, TV. shows and magazines challenges the cultural and moral values of local societies through their representation of family life, inter-personal relationships and other social aspects. However, these influences cannot always be categorised as derogatory or harmful and may play a fundamental role in transforming mindsets, attitudes and society at large. This influence, if incorporated constructively, can help society get rid of its many evils, inequalities and regressive approaches. Moreover, through international media, societies become aware of what is happening round the world. This allows them to stay abreast of latest developments in the fields of science, technology, medicine, education and politics. Therefore, it binds humanity and helps nations learn from one another enabling them to develop organically, holistically and comprehensively. In conclusion, it can be said that human society is ever-evolving and dynamic. If enough value is given to maintaining the cultural ethic and there is no mindless imitation of western lifestyle, then the influences of international media can be conducive to local cultures. Strong family values backed by pride in indigenous heritage would help people blend and integrate parts of both cultures which would lead to increased awareness, the initiation of a globalized perspective and thus the formation of a virtual borderless world.