One of the biggest problems facing the world today is growing enough food to feed the ever-expanding population. GM foods are a good way to solve this issue. To what extent do you agree of disagree.

Genetically modified foods have been the source of much debate over the last few decades. However, I believe that they are the best solution we have to the problem of producing enough food to feed the planet for three reasons. First, genetically modified crops are much more resistant to pests than those grown naturally. One of the major problems facing farmers today is how to ensure their harvests are big enough to satisfy demand year upon year. By creating genetically modified seeds that are more resistant to insects, scientists are able to eliminate the biggest threat to crops. Hence, farmers can guarantee that they will be able to produce their quota of food in a given season. The second argument in favour of genetically modified seeds is that they are able to be stored much longer. Food wastage is a massive problem at the moment, with a large percentage of natural food going rotten before it has a chance to be eaten. Genetically modified foods, in contrast, have a much longer shelf life because the genes inside them that control the ripening process have been modified. Therefore, fruits such as bananas and apples can now be stored for weeks or even months before they need to be eaten. Finally, the strongest argument in favour of genetically modified food to be grown in places in which normal crops wouldn’t be able to survive. With climate change making conditions increasingly difficult for farmers in many parts of the world, genetically modified products allow them to continue farming long after natural crops would have died. In fact, thanks to new processes and technology, these farmers are actually expanding their fields and introducing new varieties of fruits and vegetables that have been specifically engineered to survive in harsh climates. In conclusion, not only does genetically modified food allow us to store food for longer, it also allow us to grow food in parts of the world that were previously closed to farmers. Therefore, I believe that only way to provide nutrition for every individual on the planet is utilising genetically modified technology.