Nowadays many students choose to take a year off before entering university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a year off, and give your own opinion about whether it is a good idea.

The majority of scholars prefer to have a year break after finishing their schooling. Although there is a number of benefits of this trend, drawbacks cannot be ignored. As far as I am concerned, it leads to a more lucrative career compared to the downsides. The primary advantage is rest and freedom after years of study. Children cope with a huge burden during their school time and they want to spend time on long vacations which are fruitful to explore some countries and other cultures. For example, when people from Asian countries visits Western countries might like some occupations which are paying high wages as opposed to their own countries. Therefore, they can change future career options because they are gaining knowledge. Using social media platforms such as YouTube and Facebook can help them to choose the best career options which are beneficial for their future. If someone spends his time the year watching videos of experienced and successful people, there are more chances of getting superior advice. Hence, utilisation of break time can help a lot. There are some drawbacks to this notion too. Initially, students can save this time for future studies which can not only make them ahead of people who took a year break but can also start earning before them by getting a job on time. To illustrate, if people have planned already in which field they want to continue study might be graduated before they are still planning which are the best jobs for the future. As a result, individuals can face regret at the end of the year. I opine that a fresh brain can make all the efforts in his favour by bringing more techniques which he has learned during the break such as career advice from career advisors from different universities can help a lot to make a good decision. Therefore, it all depends on how students use their year break to make it profitable. In conclusion, while several advantages of having a break can assist adults in choosing the best career options, it is waste of time for those who take it as fun and do leisure activities.