Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

The skyrocketing raise in the number of people possessing private vehicles in the last three decades has increased the frequency of car blockages on city streets worldwide. This essay will examine whether this is the real case and what can be done by the authorities in order to decrease the number of individuals who have their own transport. First of all, multiple factors may determine if a city will experience permanent movement bottlenecks. These will include the overall city infrastructure, laws regarding the start and end working hours of certain types of businesses and the level of public transit development. Thus, if the listed contributors are well planned by the city's institutions then there will most likely be less road congestion. For example, a thoughtful rule about diversifying the operational timing of different kinds of companies may significantly decrease the chance of congested traffic creation. This concludes that on the global scope,not each city has problems with traffic. One of the solutions to decrease how many people own cars would be building more bus stops and metro stations combined with expansions of metro lines and bus routes. This may replace the need of some citizens to drive cars to remotely located offices that are unreachable by available public transport. Another way to solve the issue would be to do better urban planning by dedicating residential, commercial and industrial zones in a way such that people do not have to travel long distances and, hence, would need to own a private vehicle. To summarize, not every single densely populated area on the planet Earth has never-ending traffic jams. And for those who do struggle with these issues, multiple solutions exist that can open up space such as rezoning the city's infrastructure and investing funds into improving the local transit system.