Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

More and more companies these days use athletes to endorse their products and services. Though some people have raised concerns over this trend, I am generally in favor of sponsorship in the sports world. Commercial sponsorship often serves as a primary source of income for most sports clubs. That is, they are predominantly depended on revenue from corporate endorsement to cover expenses such as athletes’ remuneration, training, equipment and travel costs. Were it not for this source of revenue, few sports teams could afford expenses need to perform in tournaments and championships. In this sense, sponsorships are instrumental not only in providing financial backing to sports teams, but also in promoting sports as a whole. One possible downside to consider is misrepresentation of sports. This is because the constant use of commercials in sports will undermine the core tenets of sports – fitness and comradery. The idea of holding sporting events is, in fact, to popularize sports among people as well as promoting feelings of togetherness and unity. Ubiquity of advertisements in such events, however, might compromise this image, making sports more about profit-making than health and sportsmanship. 1Xbet is a good case in point. Some people now watch sports not so much to support their favorite team or draw inspiration, but rather make bets in hope of making money. In conclusion, even though there is a risk of misrepresenting sports as a result of sponsorships, I am not opposed to this idea, for it is the chief source of revenue for many sports clubs as well as athletes.