The companies and individuals should pay to clean pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that financial investment in cleaning the pollution should be the entrepreneurs’ and people’s responsibility rather than the administration. I partly agree with the statement. On the one hand, the major reason is that the payment from companies and individuals can effectively help to get rid of pollution. Companies and individuals must change their unfriendly ways of operating and living to be greener if the payment for cleaning takes a main part of their incomes. For example, in some countries, such as China, manufacturing companies are asked for paying plenty of money to eliminate the negative effects of industrial waste gases. As a result, they have already improved their manufacturing methods with less wasted gases emission. Thus, air pollution in industrial areas has been better than before. On the other hand, the government needs to invest and lay the foundation for an anti- pollution drive which the private sector can take up and follow. This is because pollution cleanup is a gigantic task which governments can undertake effectively vis-a-vis the private sector. The huge finance required can be borne only by governments and not individual private companies. The large machinery and equipment needed to stop or clean up pollution could be installed by governments and the companies could implement the practice. In conclusion, while governments could formulate suitable laws and invest in the basic infrastructure needed for it, the private sector must obey the laws to be implemented and recycle waste as well as keep their surroundings free of pollution.