some people argue that the best way to reduce pollution and traffic jams from city centres is to make public transport free. do you agree or disagree?

This essay will totally disagree with the statement because the most effective methods to mitigate these concerns can be addressed by improving public transport and giving benefits to electric car owners. Considering firstly how developing public transportation could help this issue, many times people prefer to use their own vehicles because undergrounds or buses do not run at regular times and often run late. This means that if this type of transportation were improved to make it run more smoothly and at reliable times, people would use it more often. As a result, they would leave their cars at home, reducing, therefore, the traffic jams. For instance, recently, when the last two new tube lines were built in Lisbon, a significant amount of new monthly underground registers took place. In my opinion, even if the underground was free but still non-reliable, people would not use it anyway. Furthermore, another measure that could reduce the pollution made by the emission of carbon dioxide from fuel cars, could be put in place by encouraging people to replace their old ones with electric cars. This could be effective if the government makes some exemptions for these owners, such as free of charge road tax and car park fees, and insurance discounts. By doing this, people would tend to buy more of these petrol-free vehicles, and thereby this would reduce pollution. For example, when that measure was implemented by the Portuguese state, the amount of electric car sales boomed. Even if the tube was free, high and middle-class people would still avoid using it, so ensuring that they choose an electric car is the best option. In conclusion, although some argue that making public transport free of charge can help to reduce pollution and traffic strains, I am a vehement supporter that the most effective way to do this is by improving the public transport link and giving benefits to people to make them acquire more carbon neutral cars.