Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The number of individuals who own a car has become a growing trend. This has caused many problems in relation to the environment and the citizens. I personally think that there are many ways in which government can deal with this. Many big cities in the world have a traffic congestion problem which can vary from place to place. One of the reasons is related to commuters traveling to and from work. In fact, these people tend to travel at the same time of day and alone. For example, it would be really difficult to drive during the hour before 10 a.m and after 5 p.m because the streets are full of commuters who are trying to go to work and go home. A possible solution to this problem could simply be to share cars and make the journey with other people who work nearby or for the same organization. Another approach that governments can take in busy cities is to encourage the use of public transport. The use of public transportation can help to reduce air pollution in cities, and it must be done by investing in more sustainable ways of traveling. This means that transport facilities have to be well-run and affordable to citizens. Buses, trams and trains are good ways of getting around, and, if they are efficient and reliable, people will use them. In conclusion, I believe that government could do a lot in order to improve the viability of cities. Some of the methods include encouraging individuals to consider alternatives to driving.