Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, one of the most trending activities among young people above 18 is shopping. In this essay, I will elaborate on the causes of this phenomenon, as well as, I will illustrate why I believe the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages. To begin with, there are several reasons why this happened. Certainly, the modern era brought us an uncontrollable supply. We have never before had so many options to choose from. This access makes people crave more and more stuff. Consequently, many end up being addicted to the purchase. Moreover, producers make it worse because they do manipulate people to increase their sales. Namely, through extensive marketing strategies that show only the positives of the presented item. If people get bombarded with advertisements, they will be influenced by them. I strongly believe this is very harmful for people. Such a hobby does not develop relevant skills. Instead of spending hours in a mall, the young generation should invest their time in self-improvement. I have seen it with many of my friends who lost price-less years of their lives searching for new stuff they want to buy. The present situation gives society no sufficient benefit. Namely, people waste their time and money and clutter up their apartments. To conclude, it is popular among young adults to use shopping as the leisure activity. It is because of the overwhelming amount of things we have in shops and marketing campaigns. I opt for fighting with it because I do not notice any positives of it.