Social media has become a regular part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently social media has altered how people live and spend their leisure time. I hold the belief that it is both a positive and a negative change since social media makes communication better and provides entertainment. However, it has some detrimental impacts on people ’s health and education, so I think its drawbacks easily outweigh the benefits mentioned above. Instagram, youtube and other social networking websites are now a regular part of children’s routines. Having access to these websites enables people to converse with their friends and relatives more easily than before. Indeed, in the past people used to send letters in order to communicate with people who live in remote areas, but thanks to social media platforms it is much easier now. In addition, social media is widely believed as one of the best entertainment tools. Take youtube as an example, the majority of people use this website to watch exciting and uplifting videos. Therefore, social media can be considered as beneficial for humans since it makes communication easier and provides entertaining content. Despite the positive sides of social media, there are some underlying unfavourable aspects of it. Social media is one of the main reasons why people are leading a sedentary lifestyle currently, since its content is attention-grabbing. In other words, when people enter social media sites, they will lose the track of time, so they spend too much time sitting in front of a screen which is unhealthy. On top of that, using such platforms influences young users’ education negatively because they spend most of their time chatting with their peers or surfing on social networking websites. Instead, this time can be spent learning new things or improving their current knowledge. To conclude, despite the convenient communication and entertainment social media provide, its impact on how people spend their time has been more negative, with health and learning habits affected the most.