In poorer families, school children may have to work part-time as well as study. Discuss the merits and demerits for these children.

It has been noticed that juveniles in impoverished families who go to school supposedly have to work and study simultaneously. Out of the numerous merits and demerits of this, a few significant ones will be discussed in the narrative ahead. There are several advantages for studying and working at the same time. The most significant merit, however, is practical exposure. It is undeniably true that students who work along with their studies get an opportunity to learn the know-how of the business world like how to handle a customer, how to negotiate, rapport building etcetera. For example, in 2019, as per the Canadian Student Association, students who worked along with their studies were fully employed after their graduation because of their knowledge of pragmatic nuances of the business world. Another noteworthy merit of this is money management. It is an irrefutable fact that when students earn they realise the difference between the expense and the investment. What’s more, they learn how to save money to secure their future. However, there supposedly are disadvantages too. The focal con for this is the loss of education. In other words, there are students who cannot strike a balance between their job and their studies. As a result, their academics take a back seat. In addition to this loss of social identity and connectedness comes across as a demerit worth considering. It is evident that children who work and study simultaneously are not able to give time to their friends and families. This behaviour cuts them out from their loved ones and leads them towards depression. To conclude, like a coin that has two sides, there clearly are both merits such as job market exposure and skill of how to manage money and demerits like academic loss and social isolation. The plusses associated with this trend should be welcomed and cherished, while the minuses need to be carefully considered and dealt with.