Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

There are two options related to building a residencial areas. One is constructing taller buildings and another is creating housing in wide areas. In my opinion, having tall buildings are more beneficial since they take less space and can regroup many people at the same time. As humans we have to think about the environment and what our action may cause. Having wide areas of land implies cutting down more trees, consequently causing a bad impact on the nature. Trees are very vital to all living things. It provides shelter, food and even protect us from landslides. If we cut them, we will take animals space, force them to leave their natural habitat and we may cause natural disaster, which in turn will negatively affect our environment. However, if we construct taller houses their will be no need to take down trees and neither take animals place. We can build as many floors as we want or need. One example are skyscrapers. They don´t take as many space as we would image and many people can live in them. One example is the tallest building in the world in United Emirates Arabics. It has more than 100 floors and I would estimate than more than 1000 families could live there. Now, imagine if we had to open a space in land for 1000 families? The impact would be tremendously bad. In conclusion, having infrastructures that occupies less space avoinding destruction of our mother nature is preferable. It does not bring negative effects to our planet.