some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The opinion is divided on whether advertisement is extremely ubiquitous in our modern lives or whether it is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. While I understand the logic behind the former view, I am still in favour of the latter. Those who believe that advertisement has been superfluous may have several arguments. Firstly, they may well argue that advertisements can get deceptive. Some brands intentionally put out advertisements that exaggerate their product’s quality which could create a false impression of the consumers. Thus, buyers are sometimes convinced to empty their wallets for useless products. Another possible argument is that making broadcast is associated with high cost for companies which, consequently, force them to increase the price of their goods or services to maintain profitability. In other words, advertisements make consumers pay more than the real value of what they purchase. However, these minor concerns can be solved if the government impose stringent regulations on the advertising content and censor all campaigns before publishing them. Despite some aforementioned drawbacks, I still believe that advertising is helpful for the community for several reasons. Chief among these is that interactive media can educate customers about different products in the market. With more comprehensive insights, they can make a decision about what is best for them. For instance, one can identify the most suitable milk powder for the elderly with an increased amount of calcium or good gut bacteria thanks to the leaflet or television ads. The second reason is that making advertisements can generate great employment opportunities. A large number of human resources such as content creators, film-makers, surveyors or market researchers could be recruited for outstanding and compelling broadcast advertising. In this manner, it is persuasive that advertising is beneficial in several aspects. In conclusion, it is understandable why some may argue that ads are no longer attractive to consumers. However, I would take the view that it is an essential component to help people make efficient purchase decisions.