Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertising plays an important role in a consumer's purchasing. At the same time, this is now one of the most controversial issues that people like debating about, when it comes to it's genuine effectiveness. To begin with, there is a view that commercials have gained much power in modern days due to the advancement of technology. Therefore, a lot of marketing strategies have been made to entice people for spending their money. Companies may analyse consumer's online activity through data, and they offer ads to fulfill people's needs. However, at the same time, audiences often feel tiredness from being exposed to tons of commercials. This is due to the fact that ads exist literally everywhere, although people don't want to watch ads. It leads them try to avoid ads, so that advertising no longer helpful to catch future consumers' attention. In my opinion, although the pervasiveness of ads sometimes make people refuse to be exposed to it, they are still helpful for choosing better products. Take myself as an example, I bought new hairdryer from Dyson after watching several ads on YouTube. In the video, a model used the product for styling her hair. After she finished, her hair looked perfect. Moreover, I was fascinated by not only the results, but also the features which has reducing hair damage. As a result, the commercial provided useful information to make my choice. To sum up, though ads are everywhere in people's daily life, it offers consumer information about products what is the pros and cons of it. I would say that advertising makes people to pay, which is the main purpose.