It’s more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that learning at school about local traditions should be preferred to lecturing about world history. Although I agree that educating children to study what occurred to the human beings in general, I think that the school, as public entity, should devote more time to help family into preserving local customs and usages. On the one hand, it is important for school children to go through their customs and to have teachers with the proper willingness to play a significant role in keeping dialects and practices. That means, the educators, several times coming from other places, have the responsibility to be integrated into the surrounding area. What’s more, children should have at school the chance to study, at least, the main historical monuments of their city to be prepared, once they become adult, to give value to and take advantage of what their town offers to the visitors. From my perspective, I had foreign teachers, sometimes coming from other places of Italy that did not know anything about Ravenna, the city where I was born and raised. On the other hand, it is also crucial for school children to study the world history since it helps to look up their mindset, to appreciate other cultures and attitudes. Teachers dedicate time to explain what occurred to human beings from the birth of the first man, the primitive man to the world war the second. In my opinion this approach helps or should help a lot to keep focused in mind the main mistakes made by people along the history to avoid their repetition. However, what has been happening in Ukraine since February 2022 disappoints me and demonstrate that neither knowing the past events protect people to do again some sort of bad acts. To conclude, though I agree that it is basically important for children to study world history at school to understand other cultures in general and some mistakes made in the past by human beings, I think that both keeping local traditions, dialets dialect, customs and giving this kind of responsibility to the school play an essential role in education.