A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this fact.

In today's world every individual is occupied in his life, spending vacations is the only and effective stressbuster. Therefore, masses enjoy their holidays in the limited tourist hot-spots, thereby putting immense pressure on the available resources. Therefore, tourism has benefits and drawback, which will be enlisted in this essay. The most crucial benefit of tourism, it generates employement for the local people, namely hotel staff, transpoters, and guides, so these staff become bread earner for their families. The recent report from the Ministry of Tourism, for instance, states that in Maldives the 95% of the work-force is enagaged in travel industry as compared to the IT sector. Besides, this tourism also bolster culture and latest technology exchange, consequently; kids from these backward geographies can learn new methods and skills. Despite the merits, there are few de-merits and the most pivotal is the pollution and stress on the limited resources. Because the remote locations have limited parking space and roads are narrow, as a result, there are traffic jams, hence there harmful gases are emited. Furthermore, during these blockades, drivers press unwanted horns, which induces noise pollution, which destroys natural habitat of animals. To summarise, there are always two sides of the coins, and the same analogy has been drawn in tourism industry. Looking at the pros and cons mentioned above, I am inclined to say that advantages have empowered the disadvantages, and the local bodies can implement few measures to control and counter it.