One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer, and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantage of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

Due to the advancement in technology in the healthcare sector, it is believed that many people will live longer and increase their life expectations. However, in my opinion, I suppose that the drawbacks will outweigh the benefit. On the one hand, senior citizens in society will bring a positive impact on other people around them. When the elderly live for many and many years, they can share their experiences and a piece of advice for young people. For example, old people give advice about how to upbringing a child or how to maintain financial stability. As a result, young people can imitate more positive behaviours that are given by the elderly. On the other hand, rising life expectations will cause many drawbacks for individuals and governments. Firstly, the young population might feel uncomfortable in their workplace. The older community tend to reject opinions from the younger ones because they envisage that they are definitely true due to a lot of experiences in life. For example, when a young person gives his solution for an issue in a workplace, a senior might reject that opinion. Besides, the elderly might become a burden for a nation. The government will need to give pensions for the elderly who retire, while it can be allocated to deal with many problems such as poverty and famine in a country. Therefore, it can limit the use of money for other issues. To sum up, although a population with a long life can benefit society, it also brings more disadvantages for young society and the authority. However, I believe that having long live expectations will give more detrimental effects on society.