A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, the argument that traditional values have been significantly replaced with new, less morally concerned ideals is a relevant topic of discussion. While I believe certain core values remain the bane of our existence, and forever will, I agree that certain adaptations have been implemented. A reason why I agree is that modern life has its own requirements. With the gradual improvement and development of our lifestyles have followed the idealization of certain human attributes, such as wealth and status among peers. Consequently, the emphasis on their importance has been made overwhelmingly apparent and perhaps even overshadowed the following of other beliefs and ideals. Additionally, not only has acquiring these commodities successfully shifted our attention to more trivial matters but, it has also redirected where we spend the greatest quantity of our time. This has resulted in several issues in our society due to decreased ethics and awareness. For instance, recent reports of several police departments in the US suggest that both petty and more devastating crime has grown by more than 33% over a 20-year period following 1990, often linking it to the increase of pressure to obtain wealth and power during the concurrent years. Conversely, a reason as to why I disagree is because without vital values such as honesty, trust, and kindness societies would enter chaos and likely even destruction. Looking around we can witness that an irrefutable degree of their absence is present, yet it is not absolute. Furthermore, traditional values centred around highly virtuous standards are at the core of our existence. This is the result of the fact that we are beings of consciousness and judgment, which we use to navigate through numerous aspects of life. To conclude, I believe that the mentality surrounding the need to adapt to overexaggerated modern living and societal standards has resulted in the depletion of both the upholding and following of vital ideals. In opposition, I disagree with the possibility that old-fashioned beliefs can be replaced as a whole, as they guide and are a part of us.