In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problem will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Many developed countries are experiencing substantial increases in life expectancy. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. Several related problems can be anticipated in the growing population of elderly people. Firstly, this problem puts a heavy burden on the government financially. Older people will usually have a pension and money to support the treatment of diseases because they are more vulnerable to chronic diseases. So, the government might have to devote a larger budget to utilities in order to serve the growing demands of an aging population. Another problem, the proportion of people of working age who pay income taxes has declined. The combination of higher pension spending and lower tax revenues can seriously affect government spending and the economy as a whole. In order to address the aforementioned issues, several actions can be taken. The first measure would be to increase the retirement age of workers. This would help reduce the burden on government spending. Another efficacious way is to encourage the immigration of young working adults, which could help increase tax revenues for the government. Finally, the authorities should encourage increased birth rates as it will bring the country back to the era of golden population. In conclusion, there are many measures that can be taken to solve the problems that are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow older.