In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing high speed railway lines for inter-city travel. Others believe this money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that large sums of money should be spent on building high-speed railway lines connecting cities, while others state that it is better to improve the public transportation that already exists. I fully agree with the idea of filling the gaps in the existing transport system first and then, if it functions well, moving on to new projects. High-speed railways are gaining popularity around the world. Building this kind of line not only boosts the economy, but also makes travelling much more eco-friendly. For example, in China, where high-speed trains have become the main inter-city transport, people use cars less as modern trains save money and time. This way the government successfully solves the problem of pollution by investing in the new ecological vehicle. Nevertheless, I believe that building high-speed lines is only effective after the elimination of existing transportation shortcomings. Cars, buses and trains still remain the major options for travellers and they should be maintained well. For instance, in my country, there is a great number of cities and villages which a high-speed line could not cover. Therefore, buses and roads should be in a good condition to help people get to those places successfully. In addition, the new trains may be rather expensive for many passengers, so the usual railway system should also function flawlessly. In conclusion, while implementing new ways of transportation has many benefits, maintaining conservative public transport is essential. The government should prioritize spending money on existing problems and then put new ambitious plans into practice.