People’s lives are now surrounded by advertisement. This affects what people consider important and has a negative impact on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Large billboards, posters and electronic panels can be found in every nook and corner of the cities nowadays. And if you do not see the ads outside you, definitely will watch them being aired on tv or played on the radio all day. The amount of exposure to marketing of any product can skew the thinking process of a consumer and cause adverse effects in their life, with which I agree. Firstly, aggressive campaigning of any item in the form of billboards and tv commercials can make the product seem more special than it actually is. Boasting unproven benefits and claims has become a common practice in marketing. For instance, US television is riddled with commercials from small private companies that produce pills or ointments that claim to fix a health condition. However, these treatments are not approved or have not received any certification from any government organization. This can lead to individuals consuming untested medicine which can worsen their condition. Secondly, being around ads both inside and outside their homes, people end up purchasing things that they do not need. Commercials showcase cheap and untested products with fake reviews just to paint an illusion to their future customers. For example, late-night shopping shows display a myriad of goods and make the purchase process hassle-free to entice the viewers to make this purchase with a simple call, even if they do not need that product. I too have been swayed away by these shows and own some items that I did not need. To sum up, an abundance of ads around us can lead to unnecessary and bad purchases. This can not only result in a waste of money but also cause harm to one's health.