An old friend of yours is coming to visit your city. You had planned to meet him at the airport, but something has come up and you will not be able to make it there on time. Write to your friend, In your letter Explain the situation Offer to make alterntive arrangements.

Hi Joe, How are you? I am sorry to tell you that I won't be able to pick you up at the airport when you arrive on April 4. My manager just asked me to attend a very important meeting on the same day, and I will be out of town in the early morning and come back in the evening. This is an unexpected situation as I've already applied for annual leave on that day, however, the previous schedule with the client has been changed from April 5 to April 4 and we cannot negotiate with them. This is a final meeting we have with their finance manager to sign the contract, therefore, we have no option but to agree with the new proposed time. But don't worry, I will seek help from my sister Sarah whom you met last summer to drive you home on my behalf. She will meet you at Grate number two and take you to my favourite restaurant which I've booked. You would love it. I will come back as soon as I can and meet you later at home. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Best regards, Eason Chan