Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Having difficulty with reading and writing is a great concern, especially in the modern world where it is defined as the informational era. There seem to be two main causes and three effects, which we will discuss here. The main cause is probably the lack of awareness on the importance of education. This misconception might be common among illiterate parents who think that education won't guarantee job security and there are jobs that can be done without needing any formal education such as farm helper, dishwasher, etc. The second key cause is, I believe, poverty. Unfortunately, only some of us are lucky enough to not worry about our next meal, and for the rest education becomes less crucial than something that might fill their stomach. Regarding the effects might be felt by employers, perhaps the main impact is on the economy. Today's minimum requirements at work are ability to communicate with other workers freely. Therefore, a less competent labor force results in less output, which leads to stagnate future growth or even decrease the total gross domestic products. In addition, these illiterate people can be easily replaced by machineries, which pushes them into poverty. Finally, the most harmful effect is if the proper measures are not taken, then the chain will be continued down to the next generation. To sum up, the causes of this trend are primarily to do with lack of education among kids while growing up, and the effects result negatively to the present and future of the country.