In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas hut not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

From the evidence of developing countries all over the world it seems inevitable that economic growth is generated in the business and industrial centres of the major cities. As a result, urban citizens have access to jobs and facilities that improve their living standards considerably. However, it is usually the case that these are not equally enjoyed by people in the countryside and this generates several problems for the countries concerned. First of all, people from the countryside will try to move to the cities to get more employment opportunities and better access to the facilities available there. But, this increase in the urban population puts greater pressure on housing and services, and leads to the creation of massive slum areas where condition may be lower than in the rural villages. These are often left under-populated and this can impact on food production and can have severe affects for people in both urban and rural areas. Finally, as a country's economy develops, there may be an increasing sense of inequality as the towns get richer and villages get poorer, and this may lead to more crime and even civil unrest. The key to reducing these problems seem to lie in improving the standards of living and the facilities available in the countryside. Perhaps incentives can be offered to factories and companies to relocate; roads and rail networks can be built to make such relocation possible; doctors and teachers could be required to spend part of their professional lives in rural areas, etc. In conclusion, however, improving rural living standards requires investment and political will that is sometimes not easy to generate.