Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? (IELTS 10, AC)

Many nations happen to be lesser different compared to others due to the ability to purchase similar products from anywhere across the world. Even though this is a sign of economic development, I believe it is a negative improvement if every country looks exactly the same. The world has been rapidly growing, especially in technology. A couple years ago, there was no such thing as e-commerce but nowadays, even to only buy vegetables, it can be done online even across nations. With Pay Pal and any similar payment method, transactions cross-world become more easily to proceed so people from Indonesia could buy the most updated iPhone from the United States without any difficulty. Furthermore, social media also has its contribution by providing a wide range of fashion references, for instance. Who does not have Instagram these days? This application offers full of what we called 'influencers' from other countries who posted their lifestyle and inspired the viewers to wear the same thing. As the result, it becomes a domino effect and many people seem to have the same taste of mode. On the other hand, naturally every single country has its own culture. Imagine if all nations have lost their identity and will look similar to each other. The beauty of diversity will not able to enjoy by the next generations. To sum up, the similarity of countries is a symbol of easiness transactions across nations which benefited people. However, this is also a threat to traditional culture. Keeping the uniqueness of every country is still necessary to prevent it from extinction.