In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, some parents believe that children are often told about they can achieve something if they try their better. This essay I will discuss the pros and cons of giving kids this message. On the one hand, an advantage of achieve the goal if children work hard is that it could be promote children ’s motivation. It encourages them to try their best to achieve the goal that they want. Children will put more effort into what they are doing to have an achievement. For example, Peter’s academic result always stay on the last of the class. His mother hopes his son to try his better to do some revision and gets a pass in the exam. She promised peter that gave him an iPhone as a gift to encourage Peter working hard on his study. Finally, he got a good grade in the exam. Thus, present as a prize could be motivate children to work hard. On the other hand, a disadvantage of achieve anything if adolescents try hard enough is that it could be develop a negative impact when they are facing fail. It might damage children ’s self-esteem with a fake hope. kids trust that they could do it when they face something impossible. For instance, telling kids who are deaf due to an accident that they could hear the music again if they are trying hard. It provides an illusion to them. After that, it might cause mental damage if the deaf knows the truth. Therefore, achieve anything to children may create a false appearance. In conclusion, kids being encouraged to try harder become more motivative. However, it may provide a false hope to them. We should get a balance on it. (284)