Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Online shopping has been progressively replacing the popularity of conventional shopping. This development has several negligible benefits compared to the drawbacks that more adversely affect the individuals and local communities. The advantages stemming from this trend are tangible. In the olden days, when people visited physical stores, they would wait in the crowd to buy the things they needed. These days, on the contrary, they can purchase whatever they want within a day by booking it on the internet. This, in turn, can allow them to economise their time and invest it in more important activities, such as doing sports or engaging in family gatherings. In addition, people who prefer online shopping are more likely to enjoy a wider variety of appropriate services and quality products, because they have enough time to look for them carefully. Thus, individuals usually feel the positive effects of this type of shopping. Nevertheless, there are potential disadvantages surrounding online shopping. On an individual level, as people shop on the internet regularly, they experience a lack of physical activity. In fact, without going grocery shopping or libraries to buy books, people have dramatically reduced their "active hours", thereby becoming more vulnerable to health problems like obesity. From a societal perspective, as a consequence of online giants partaking in the marketing industry, the vast majority of traditional stores are closing down desperately. This often causes many people to lose their jobs and be unemployed, thus raising the unemployment rate in society. Therefore, both individuals and the community feel the side effects of the development of online shopping. To conclude, it seems to me that the upsides of advancement in internet shopping are outweighed by its personal and social downsides.