Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

There is a prevalent belief that social media has a number of negative aspects, affecting some personal and social lives. From my perspective, I am utterly opposed to this idea as my reasons will be stated below. Some people say that network sites may consume much of an individual's valuable time, which is a reasonable cause for concern. For example, a person can spend a whole day just reading the latest trend, keeping up with trends, and chatting with random people on network sites, separating them from their present life. As a result, they will frequently ignore the problems around them, even losing connection with their family. Besides that, with the rapid development of social networks, inaccurate information is also may spread quickly, making people easily confused and misunderstood by a specific individual or group. However, we cannot doubt the tremendous advantages of social media nowadays. In particular, these sites provide online communication platforms, connecting people from all over the world. For example, a person in Italy can video call someone in Japan at any time, enabling people around the world to meet each other without having to go to a specific place. Moreover, social networks play a significant role in the economy through advertising. Because there are a large number of users on websites, companies can easily reach and attract potential customers, contributing to the development of the firms and benefiting society. In conclusion, although online communities have drawbacks, we cannot deny their advantages, and I strongly believe online networks will definitely contribute more to the country's future development.