Most countries allow 18-year olds to start driving a car. Some say it is good to allow at this age. But others think that the age to start driving should be at least 25. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Many countries have put an age barrier as to when youngsters can legally drive. In most countries, this age is 18 years, which many people believe is early. They hold the opinion that the appropriate age is 25 years. In my opinion, age alone is not the factor deciding whether a person should be allowed to drive or not. There are several factors such as the young adults' level of maturity and responsibility that needs to be assessed. On the one side, a youngster who has reached the age of 18 is already nearing adulthood and it's peek time that he should start acquiring key life skills that are needed to face the challenges of life. At this age, most the students start their higher education and even might start working part-time. Hence, it is imperative that they have their own means of commutation. For example, a university student might be able to spend more time on studies and work rather than worrying about public transport, if he has his own bike to reach his destination quickly. On the other hand, statistics show that most accidents are due to young bikers who drive recklessly. Even though they are grown, they do not have a sense of responsibility and care for others. Many youngsters find a thrill in breaking traffic rules and escaping the police. For instance, motorcycle racing is a common event that happens on university college premises. Hence, age alone cannot define if the person is ready to drive on road. To summarize, the age when young adults should be allowed is a highly debated topic. Although, teenagers at the age of 18 have enough growth, strength and skills to drive a vehicle, they might not always have the level of responsibility to drive safely on roads. Hence care should be taken in providing required additional training and counselling before letting them ride independently on roads.