Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. What might be the cases? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

In recent times, people are becoming self-employed, rather than doing corporate jobs. Work flexibility and absolute financial control could be a few of the many reasons for this. However, market demands and job insecurities are part of its shortcomings. To begin, many now choose to become entrepreneurs while only a few still strive to work in the industrial sector. One of the reasons is that unlike working in the office, doing a personal job gives more flexibility. In another sense, they are the boss on their own. So, they have the opportunity to participate in other necessary activities without any backlash from anyone. Also, it gives room to be completely in charge of their finances. That is, they are able to maximize their profits and expenditures. For instance, shop owners and market women open or close for the day anytime they like and sell their products at whatever price they feel like. Meanwhile, this is not totally beneficial. The major setback is that work security is not guaranteed. Unlike in the corporate sector, jobs are contracted, therefore, salaries are paid irrespective of the company's sales or profit. This doesn't apply to the self-employed, money is only made based on daily sales, so, constant earning is not guaranteed. Also, their sustainability highly depends on market waves. If prices of goods go down, they run into debt and fold up. For example, many shops in China closed up last year due to a sudden crash in the prices of cotton leading to a significant increase in unemployment. In conclusion, the safety that comes with working in an organization or company is invaluable and this cannot be found among personal small-scale business owners. So, in order to avoid failing businesses and financial loss, many should be encouraged to take office roles instead.