Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, think that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, one part of our society opines that severe penalties for bad road behaviour are an efficient way to prevent drivers from unfavourable incidents. Meanwhile, some individuals consider that alternative actions can be undertaken to avoid potential hazards. From my point of view, both approaches can be taken for traffic safety. By combining them we can decrease the level of car crashes with measures of fine increase and infrastructure of routes as well as education of future drivers. On the one hand, rash driving contributes significantly to road accidents, so breaking traffic rules should be penalized with fines or a driving ban. If a chauffeur has exceeded the speed limit or was seen by drunk-driving, they should be given a financial penalty and if they continue to disrupt rules, it leads to deprivation of license. For example, in South Korea, any road violation is punished by a considerable amount of fee. As a result, Korean citizens tend to break road rules less because of fear of being sanctioned. In addition, road travel is tightly tracked so that people cannot go unpunished. On the other hand, despite strict penalization, there can be traffic conditions in order to escape dangers on the routes. Firstly, the government should expand the number of CCTV and vehicle speed controls on the roads in order to control speed. Moreover, the infrastructure of roads themselves should be changed and risen in number to avoid traffic jams. Eventually, there can be included traffic education from the earliest ages. For instance, schoolers can learn road signs and regulations in order to reduce the chances of traffic fatalities. To conclude, the total number of fines should be grown to ensure citizens do not commit breaches. Also, children should gain knowledge about traffic to prevent themselves from negative implications. I personally believe that sanctions for driving offences and changes in traffic rules can improve safety with help of authorities and good driver behaviour.