Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, society faces lots of accidents for various reasons every day. One group of people claimed that severe penalties ought to be introduced in order to cut down the number of auto catastrophes, while others opine that other alternatives might be better. I personally believe that harsh fines would enhance transport safety as well as convenient infrastructure. It is commonly known that there exists plenty of bad road behaviours causing accidence. It usually occurs due to drunk driving, exceeding speed and non-observance of traffic rules. Thereby, on the one hand, strict rules are greatly demanded. For instance, in South Korea, strong punishments in the form of financial penalties or deprivation of license driving were established, preventing the frequency of car crashes by influencing perpetrators. Of that action, drivers fear and follow the rules with considerable attention. On the other hand, modern cities witness a range of issues that play a huge role in terms of vehicle tragedies. First of all, authorities should take action with a view to improving the infrastructure of the road systems and traffic lights that often disturb drivers. The state should provide a valuable and firm education for drivers along with pedestrians about traffic signs and regulations. Pedestrians, especially children are often the causes of these incidents, therefore good education about traffic rules has to be presented effectively. Moreover, corruption in auto schools must be restricted and more CCTV cameras should be set up. To conclude, to my way of considering, although fines may impact breachers, the government are also responsible for doing things better by supplying convenient paths and training at schools.