The news media have too much influence on people’s lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Just a few decades ago, the news media operated only through radio and printed newspapers. However, it has now entered the daily lives of citizens through television, computers and cell phones. While its huge influence has some positive aspects, I agree that this is a largely development. There are two significant benefits of the growth in influence of the news media today. One important consideration is that those who wish to hear breaking news can generally do so, no matter where they are or what they are doing. They can instantly access worldwide news coverage of world events on websites or 24-hour TV news channels. Even in terms of local news, while commuting to work, motorists can listen to up to the minute traffic reports and change their route to their workplace accordingly. Another benefit is the breakdown of communication barriers which the global news media has facilitated, contributing to the spread of English, and promoting cultural assimilation, particularly among immigrant communities. However, such positive aspects are outweighed by the negative ones. Firstly, the news media is dominated by moguls who use their money to broadcast propaganda, selecting what to report and how to report it. Thus, for example, the recent trip of US President Trump, to gain international support against North Korea, made headlines, whereas the US failure to attend the world summit on climate change was almost ignored. Secondly, commercial advertising is a prominent feature of news channels. This fuels undesirable socio-economic changes, contributing to the growth of the consumer society, as people are swayed by advertisements to buy goods impulsively. In conclusion, the news media have too much influence over the daily lives of people and the consequences are overwhelmingly negative.