Task 2: The news media have too much influence on people’s lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often claimed that the widespread influence of the news media is affecting negatively our lives. Although we have to admit the benefits given from it, I think it is also a potential risk for us. Nobody can overlook the outcomes of digital news platforms. We can have instant access to news everywhere. For instance, we can watch local news or listen to traffic reports through an application on our mobile phones or tablets. On the other hand, it helps us to break down communication barriers. For example, there are more and more online English teachers or language exchange groups, helping the spread of English and the breakdown of language barriers. Everything has two sides, the news industry also has large drawbacks. Firstly, news media broadcasts propaganda owned by rich people. Specifically, US election candidates often spend much money for polishing their reputations via social medias and other ways. Secondly, press organisations make money from commercial advertising in their own systems, promoting consumerism. In conclusion, though the news media has numerous advantages, I would argue that we are also facing its huge disadvantages in our daily lives.