It is the job of governments and companies is to deal with the huge environmental problems which we face. Individuals on their own can do little or nothing. What is your opinion about this statement?

It cannot be disputed that states and companies have the responsibility to tackle climate change. But they are not the only ones implicated, also individuals have the possibility to collaborate to reduce the environmental damage. I consider that we all are involved in this situation, and we all must collaborate in different measures. It is undeniable that authorities have a huge responsibility to take care of our planet by producing green policies that would contribute to preventing the devastating consequences of global warming. In these cases, politicians must regulate these policies making sure that the industries and society comply with them, as it is also a must for the companies to guarantee environmental preservation. One clear example is the recent launch of a national project of the government of my country consisting in helping citizens to afford the installation of solar panels on their homes as well as demanding industries to develop sustainable technologies. Additionally, individuals can also make smaller things to preserve the environment. For example, people can help from their houses by turning off the light if it is not needed, reducing the use of plastic, growing their own vegetables at home, and even reducing the consumption of fossil fuels. If we consider all these small details together, the population around the world will contribute to the health of our planet. Likewise, some people self-organise into environmental pressure groups to protest and lobby their politicians to promote these green policies and follow them. In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments and companies must respond to climate change by following different procedures to reduce environmental damage and sharing the same vision of a “green future”, where sustainability and renewable energy are priorities in the industrial world. However, the population can also contribute by changing some habits and replacing them with better ones, being more self-sufficient as well as assuming moral responsibility to their own society and demanding to government major compromises with our planet.